PDA

View Full Version : 250w HPS Opinions needed :)

Ryan
09-10-2009, 12:47 PM
Hi everyone,

I have another question as I near flowering for some of my garden. I am looking into purchasing a 250w HPS setup, and once again I will be using BGH. I need some comments about the current 250w HPS you have and some of the advantages and disadvantages you have with using it. Specifically, I am interested in the size of your area it flowers/fruits, and how easy or hard you find it to keep the lamp cool(also if you have an exhaust fan hooked into the system)..

I am very new to the gardening so any tips or comments you have about how I should choose the specific ballast, and reflector will be greatly appreciated. This will be used in a grow room(4'11" x 4'11" x 6'7").

I do not currently have any great ideas on how much ventilation is need for an exhaust fan in this setup(formula seems a bit tricky to me). Also, if I use an Exhaust fan I would assume that would create an intake on the other side of the room through the OPEN vent??

Thanks again,
Ryan

David G.
09-10-2009, 11:38 PM
First of all, are you planning on utilizing the entire 4'11" grow space? If so, a 250W HPS is too small. You would need at least a 600W to cover this area, and many growers even opt to use a 1000W in this size space. So before I answer your questions regarding the 250W system, let me know how much space you will actually be needing to illuminate.

Ryan
09-11-2009, 10:27 AM
Hi David,

I knew 250w was way to small. Actually from looking at things I decided I would try a 400w light instead. A 600w seems like it may be a little to pricey for my monthly usage bills. I would only use about 3x3 area of that space, never exceeding 4' in height to allow for the 18"-24" space to hang the light above the plants as heat burn would seem to be an issue.