PDA

View Full Version : Unable to mix the nutrient

takkaru
10-02-2009, 02:53 PM
Hi,
I am new to hydroponics, i mixed nutrients with water and the pH value is 6.2 and Ec value is 3.1 ms/Cm. i planted tomato seeds and the seeds germinated. But it has been 6 days after germination and no leaves are growing other than the first two. What has gone wrong

David G.
10-02-2009, 11:48 PM
3.1 EC is very high for seedlings. In fact, you shouldn't even fertilize until the first set of true leaves appears, and then you should start with around 1.0 EC.

Other possible causes could be excess humidity (leading to dampening off, etc.) and improper lighting, but I would start with the EC issue. At this point it may be best to just start new seeds, since even if the seedlings come out of their current state there is a good chance that they will never reach their full potential, and new (and stronger) seedlings will catch up to and eventually overtake the weak ones so you're not really losing any more time than you already have.

takkaru
10-03-2009, 05:31 AM
Thanks for your help. My tap water is cholorinated. Does cholorine affect the growth of plants.

David G.
10-03-2009, 11:18 AM
It does, but not normally to the extent you describe. If it's not within your budget to purchase something like the Small Boy (http://www.bghydro.com/BGH/itemdesc.asp?ic=WTROSB01&eq=&Tp=) then I would try to let the water sit for 24 hours before irrigating the plants with it. This will help release most of the chlorine gas. Keep in mind, however, that many municipalities are now using chloramines as well, and the only way to remove these are with a KDF-85 filter (http://www.bghydro.com/BGH/itemdesc.asp?ic=WTROSTLFCKDF85&eq=&Tp=). If it's within your budget, they I would spring for a complete reverse osmosis system (http://www.bghydro.com/BGH/itemMatrix.asp?ic=WTROSTL10&eq=&MatrixType=2), which will give you almost 100% clean water - perfect for growing plants.

takkaru
10-20-2009, 02:37 AM