PDA

View Full Version : New to hydroponics, have a plan, but had some questions

Mahonroy
01-05-2010, 08:07 PM
Hello my name is Matt,
So I'm new to hydroponics and came up with a system I believe, but wanted to ask you guys a couple questions to clarify a couple of things.
First off I am planning on growing peppers (habaneros, jolokia, devil's tongue, jalapenios, etc.)
So I uploaded a couple pics of how the setup is going to be (or very similar). Basically using pvc tubing, hole saw a bunch of holes for the cups to sit in, and a water line running along side that will spray the roots, then have a drain at the back to run back to the water reservoir. Is this called aeroponics by the way?
My first question, was that I was confused about the spraying water. Are the roots only going to get water when the water pump is on and spraying the roots? Or will the roots be submerged in the water as well? (So I would have a drain thats like 1 inch tall so the water will stay in the tube up to an inch before draining).
My second question, is does the water need to be spraying the roots 100% of the time? Or is there a timed interval I should follow?
Also I was planning on just using high pressure sodium lights, since I heard they are better for growing plants with fruits? (e.g. peppers). Or is it best to use metal hallide first, then switch over to high pressure sodium later?

My last question has to do with starting everything. I'm under the impression that I'm going to get rock wool chunks, soak in the nutrition solution, put a seed in (do I put multiple in or just a single seed per rock wool?) and put them all in a plastic container to keep humidity up. Do I need to provide light during this, or do the seeds contain enough energy to grow a bit before needing outside stuff? At this point, do I basically just put the rock wool chunks in the plastic cups and pill with pearlite and thats it?