PDA

View Full Version : Lots of questions

Craiggy
09-29-2006, 09:38 PM
Hey Guys,

This is my first post, and I have lots of questions for the experts. I am an electrical engineer and want to design a super effiecient plant system thats more or less automated. Here is some of my ideas and questions.

I was thinking of a system to optimize C02, Oxygen to roots, nutrients, and light. My idea for a system so far is an aeroponics system with roots being suspended but also in water that is being oxygenated. I was thinking of using a humidifier or sprayers for the roots that are not submerged. For the top of the system, (it will be a closed system) I want to have some sort of way to put in controlled C02, I need a way to bring it in, measure ppm, and get rid of it/add more if needed. Also for lights I was thinking flurescent just to save money. If you guys could give any advice on what should be in the system for optimal growth, and how like a humidifier is hooked up (is it through a pump?). I eventually want everything computerized, temp and humidity readings will be taken and monitored along with C02 and O2 and everything adjusted to the specific plants needs by microcontroller (computer controlled).

Please tell me what you think, any advice/links that would help, aim handles anything.

Thanks Guys,
~Craig

hexar
10-01-2006, 05:53 AM
sounds like a nice idea, and you may have the skill and interest to build something like this... but have you any experience with hydro? it's with good reason that people start with drip or ebb and flow systems and as one columnist I've read says, "first focus on room ventilation, temp and humidity, nutrient and pH, and healthy insect free growth".

you would definitely not want to invest in some of the things you mentioned and try to save money on lights. CO2 is a key resource for the plant, but light could be called the main resource so maximize it. automation sounds great to me right now tho so good luck.

Craiggy
10-01-2006, 11:08 AM