PDA

View Full Version : Frugal Lighting sugestions

GARCROB
03-31-2010, 03:47 PM
I am new to Hydro Ponics, i have a few dwc systems outdoors but i am looking to set up a grow room indoors.

I am looking to use Fluorescent lighting because of heat and power consumption.

T5 ballasts and bulbs are not too crazy in price but does anyone else have any other suggestions for lighting means on a budget?

I am looking at 4 different sections about 4X4 each - these sections must be kept separate,

let me know your thoughts.

Murph
03-31-2010, 09:25 PM
T5 tubes and CFLs are the way to go on a budget

willard3
04-02-2010, 06:26 PM
Long term, ie, longer than a year, HID is the least expensive lighting source. With electricity at $0.15/kwh, you don't have to run too many hours for the HID advantage to kick in.

bwhite3
07-20-2010, 04:17 PM
T5 is a good light on a tight budget. I have actually used lower wattage HPS lights for my very first grows. I think my first light was a 75 watt HPS. It worked pretty damn well for a few years.

davzotl
07-25-2010, 10:03 PM
Do your homework. The internet is the perfect to research Induction Lighting. See my response to "Lamp Recommendation" below. Good luck. Dave

Unregistered
10-22-2010, 10:54 AM
Why would HID be more effiecent than Fluorescent? Dont they have higher wattage and generate more heat?

DLAB
10-25-2010, 04:59 PM
they do. they also pull more amps through your walls....ive used CFL's (6x 100w daylight) and theyve been working out really well.

willard3
10-29-2010, 09:18 AM
For a given amount of lighting and power, HID is the most efficient source. It is also the most economical light source over the life of the lamp.

If anything else were better, street lighting would use it.....seen anything but HID doing roadway lighting lately?

brbubba
10-31-2010, 09:08 PM