PDA

View Full Version : Lamp Recommendation

gaijin
07-04-2010, 08:49 AM
Hello all,
I am fairly new to hydroponics. I am in the market for a new HPS lamp. I have a Lumatek 400w dimmable ballast. Can someone please recommend a 400w HPS lamp? Cost is not an issue, I am interested in the best performing bulb that is compatible with the Lumatek ballast.

I would also like to know if there would be any problems running a 400w HPS lamp using the ballasts 50% or 75% settings (running the lamp at <400 watts). And by problems I mean damage to either the lamp or the ballast.

Thanks for any help.

gaijin
07-12-2010, 05:40 AM
So, 85+ views and no advice, huh?
Well, anyways I'm thinking of upgrading to a 600w digital ballast. I am currently using a cool tube in a small cabinet set-up. The reflector in the cool tube sucks, so I am thinking of going with a 600w Gavita lamp for better light distribution. Does anyone have any experience with the Gavita? More specifically, how it compares to something like a 600w Hortilux? Some advice would be greatly appreciated.

J

davzotl
07-12-2010, 11:17 PM
I have followed with great concern the advice that others are so willing to offer others. Generally speaking, I have not been impressed.

Regarding your questions, I do not believe that HPS, like metal halides MH, lighting fixtures are suitable for any indoor growing settings -- either hydroponic or green house. They are energy guzzlers and generate extremely high temperatures and are not the best choice for the climate controlled growing areas. There are much better lighting technologies currently on the market, and the debate regarding the attributes of each on the Internet is plentiful. However, these lighting technologies can be summed up in three basic products.

1. High Output (HO) T-5/T-8 Fluorescents,

2. Light Emitting Diodes (LED's), and

3. "electrode-less" Induction Lighting