PDA

View Full Version : too much lighting???

niigataOp
10-18-2011, 02:37 AM
I'm a newbie to growing indoors and I was wondering if its possible to have too much lighting. I'm growing in a closet space and have 8 plants with a grow area of about 12 square feet I'm running 4 4ft bulbs 2 at 6500k and 2 at 4100k. Also a 225 bulb led grow light with 160 red and 65 blue. The LEDs are hooked up but for now not running. I plan on turning them on when the plants start the budding process.

I'm curious as you what people on here think about my lighting. As well as is it possiable to have too much lighting.

niigataOp
10-20-2011, 02:12 AM
This is my first hydro grow. Just wondering how my setup rates. Any input?

I guess too much light is a stupid question.

willard3
10-20-2011, 09:43 AM
You will have to describe your lighting in power consumption, ie, watts or lumens. 30-50 watts/square foot at the plant canopy is what you want.

Unregistered
10-20-2011, 12:52 PM
There is a point called light saturation..when no more photosynthesis will occur. The only other worries would be the cost of electricity and heat. You are NO WHERE near close on enough light. You should be using at the least- a 600 watt hps. If you are going to use 48" flouro tubes, ten on each wall would just be a start. Run one 600 or a couple 400's, and half the plants. Youll get far more yield.

niigataOp
10-20-2011, 07:23 PM
Thank you willard. The 4 48" bulbs are 40 watts each. One kind is 2200 lumans although I forget which one. The other I can't remember and I don't have the boxes for either one.

Let's say there all 2200 x 4 = 8800
12 square feet 8800/12 = 733.33

I remember seeing a post that said 1000-1500 humans per square foot of canopy.
My babies are only 10-12 inches tall. Am I right to think they are good for now with the light setup I have. Just when they get bigger and have more canopy area I'm going to need more light.

Unregistered
10-27-2011, 05:59 PM