PDA

View Full Version : New member -> ?s

rfgarber
04-12-2008, 09:14 AM
I recently purchased two 2 x 4 trays with two 20 gallon reservoirs. I am very new to the concept of using hydroponics and have questions concerning two topics.

1. The craigslist seller I purchased my supplies from also had a 1000 watt HID light w/ a Hortilux Blue bulb and ballast for sale for $150. I know this is a good deal but I was concerned because I have low ceilings and I dont want my plants to burn out after they reach a reasonable height. I also was concerned about the rise in my electricity bill. I used many different calculations online and they varied significantly but were all substantially high regardless. 1000 watts going on nearly 18 hours a day is just going to eat up too much money, but the light is such a great deal. Any suggestions on cost/energy efficient AND effective lighting??

2. What is the best growing medium?? Rockwool? etc.

Like I said I am new to hydroponics but initially I wanted to grow a variety of plants within the same trays (if this is possible). I wanted to experiment with vegs and possibly some fruiting/flowering plants if this is possible in the same tray (w/ same % nutrients etc) and under the same lighting.

Thanks for the help and expertise!!

furcifer
07-16-2008, 09:59 PM
Well first off, tell us what type of a hydroponic system you are using.
There are many types out there:

Wick System
Water Culture
EBB and Flow
Drip System
N.F.T. (Nutrient Film Technique)
Aeroponic.

As far as your lights.....

Since you asked the question if you could grow and flower within the same tray, I highly suggest you do a lot of research before you attempt to grow anything hydroponically. There are a lot of things that you have to take into account. Have you bought any meters yet? If so, does it measure PH and PPM (TDS)? What nutrients do you plan on using, Organic? Where is the system going to be located, garage, family room?

rtslush
07-17-2008, 06:09 PM