Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Why do i get brown roots on my plants?

Default Why do i get brown roots on my plants?

Hi!

I'm a hydro beginner with my homemade Ebb and Flow system. I've recently noticed that the roots on one of my plants are completely brown. The plant itself doesnt really seem to suffer much from it though. No yellow or brown leaves and it's still growing. Also which you might be able to see on my picture, the roots "inside" the net pots and the clay pellets seem to be doing fine. They are still white.

I've experimented with different feeding cycles, thinking the problem might be related to under/overwatering. But i'm not sure how often they should be fed. I grow in clay pellets and currently feeding them 4 times a day for 15 minutes each. Also got double airstones for 10 litres of water. The reservoir temp. is 25 degrees C.

What can be the cause of the brown roots and is there any point in trying to fix it if the plants are doing OK?

Im posting a picture for you to diagnose

Thanks!
    Attached Images Attached Images

Those roots look like they are dying/dead. I had this problem with my homegrown aero system that was in full sunlight. What would happen is that something would affect the ph significantly to the point where the roots would die off. I had to check the ph almost every day on that system.

Overwatering could also affect the roots. In ebb and flow systems the roots growing out of the medium like that tend to languish in pools of water and can die off. I would try a 2x or 3x watering per day and make sure the medium and tray are drying out between cycles. Adjust as needed.

Ah ok, i will check the Ph just to make sure.

Do you think root rot look something like that?

Are the roots in an ebb and flow system supposed to even exit the net pots or are they supposed to stay within the clay pellets? How hardy are the roots? I mean can they stay dry for longer periods of time?