LED Grow Light Opinions
Page 1 of 13 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: LED Grow Light Opinions

Default LED Grow Light Opinions

I'm new to hydroponics. I built three small Aeroponic units and am working on a drip system. Seeing how my garden is in my home office, I started experimenting with LED lighting. I'm using Red and Blue lights I scrounged from ebay, govt surplus, etc. They seem to be working great! I have three 2 foot tall Tiny Tim plants with many small tomatoes now. I have lots of Bell pepper flowers (no fruits yet but close). I also just started a cucumber patch a few days ago and have sprouts about three inches tall.

LED = low power use (to light all the above 8 square feet uses about 120 watts and nice to the eyes and no heat.)

I was just wondering if anyone else has any experience with LED lighting good or bad and wants to share experiences and experiments with me. I have many pictures but do not know how to post them here.

There are a few LED Grow light sellers out there, but very expensive. The lights I've put together are way cheaper than buying conventional MH or HPS

Opinions/Experience appreciated

Thanks,
    Steve

I've added some pictures of this to http://www.greenpinelane.com

Steve

Unregistered Guest

Neat looking setup... what did you exactly put together? ie. did you buy LED's and solder stuff together, or whole sets of blue and red leds in a bulb type pre-made layout?

I purchased the commerial ($150) three (group) LED light last year as an experiment to see if it would provide enough "active" light to help an "outside" plant survive inside over the winter. I kept the plant near a window and used the light as a supplement. My results are mixed. The plant survived and maintained flowers, but I don't know if the LED's helped a lot, some or none.